Tuesday, September 20, 2022

Poland has tightened entry restrictions for Russian citizens

 Starting on Monday, September 19, Poland has tightened entry restrictions on Russian citizens, informed the Ministry of Interior and Administration.

On September 8 this year, the prime ministers of Poland, Estonia, Lithuania, and Latvia decided to limit the possibility of entry into the Schengen zone for Russian citizens. Mateusz Morawiecki, Kaja Kallas, Ingrida Simonyte and Arturs Krišjānis Kariņš agreed on "a common regional approach to travel opportunities for Russian citizens". In a special joint statement, the heads of government of the four countries expressed the political will and firm intention to introduce temporary national measures for citizens of the Russian Federation who have EU visas.

The actions of the countries in the region are to counteract direct threats to public order and security. It is about restricting entry into the Schengen area for Russian citizens for tourism, cultural, sports, and business purposes.